2018-10-20 09:16 KST  
Global Voices Online - The world is talking. Are you listening?
Three Koreans Seeing Action in Philippine Open Pool Championship May 27-31 in Manila
The Asian Pocket Billiards Union sends 14 players including three Korean cue artists
Paterno Jr Rebosura (junzsky07)     Print Article 
Published 2009-05-27 02:18 (KST)   
This article has only been lightly edited.  <Editor's Note>
The Asian Pocket Billiards Union is sending a 13-man team that includes three Koreans to compete in the Philippine Open Pool Championship to be held in Manila tomorrow, May 27, until May 31 in SM Mega Mall, Mandaluyong City, a suburb of the metropolis.

The Korean cue artists are Jeong Young hwa, Kim Wong dae and Kim Hee sup.Other Asian union members seeing action in the five-day event are Bernard Tey Choon Kiat and Toh Lian Han of Singapore;Chang Pei Wei, Fu Che-Wei, Ko Pin Yi, Kuo Po Cheng and Lu Hui Chan of Chinese Taipei;Bobby Lee of Hongkong; Fu Jain Bo of mainland China; Abdulatef Fawal of Qatar and Malaysian Bin Amir Ibrahim.

OMNI's New Approach to Citizen Journalism
[Opinion] Democracy's Downfall
Technology Can Save Money, Planet
[Opinion] Iran Defends Peaceful 'Right'
Couchsurfing in Gaza
Brazil Crushes Argentina, Prepares For Chile
Brazil Wins 100th Formula 1 Victory
AFL Review Round 17
AFL Review Round 16
Tokyo' Bid for the 2016 Summer Games
Meanwhile the Billiards Congress of America has eight participants in the tournament, including three lady players namely Melissa Little, Sarah Rousey and Julie Kelley, a Canadian. Another Canadian is Jason Klatt. Other members are veteran campaigner Corey Deuel, Gabe Owen and Shane van Boening, the team captain.

The rest of the campaigners are Martin Kempter and Jasmin Ouschan of Austria; Mika Immonen and Timo Makela of Finland; Thorsten Hohmann and Ralf Souquet of Germany; Darren Appleton, Kelly Fisher and Jonni Fulcher of the United Kingdom; Rudi Susanto and Ricky Yang of Indonesia;

Irish Karen Corr; Italian Fabio Petroni; Hayato Hijikata, Satoshi Kawabata, Naoyuki Oi, Kenji Taguichi and Kenichi Uchigaki of Japan;Mexican Ernesto Domingo; Polish Radoslaw Babica; Russian Ruslan Chinahov; Serbian Zoran Zvilar and veteran campaigner Marcus Chamat of Sweden.

The Philippine team, which is understandably the biggest, include
last year's Plipino finalist Demosthenes Pulpul, Edgar Acaba, Victor Arpilleda, Jerico Banares, Arnel Bautista, Elvis Calasang, Allan Cuartero, Jeffrey de Luna, Leonardo Didal, Antonio Gabica, Elmer Kalaquian, Resty Labastida, Jestoni Magadia, Jonas Magpantay; Marlon Manalo, Luis Saberdo, Marvin Tapia, Mario Tolentino and Oliver Villafuerte.

Asked as to the chances of the three Koreans to land in the final round, which is a race to 11 racks, Pulpul of the Philippines said the Korean bets are weak and they are not expected to reach the final rounds during the penultimate day of the tournament.

Elimination rounds start at 2 p.m. on May 27 which it would be a race to 9 racks. The opening rites,however, start around 11 a.m. on May 27.
I personally covered the pre-event activity at the tournament site to know about the order of the players after they were assigned their tournament numbers.
©2009 OhmyNews
Other articles by reporter Paterno Jr Rebosura

Add to :  Add to Del.icio.usDel.icio.us |  Add to Digg this Digg  |  Add to reddit reddit |  Add to Y! MyWeb Y! MyWeb

Ronda Hauben
Netizens Question Cause of Cheonan Tragedy
Michael Werbowski
[Opinion] Democracy's Downfall
Michael Solis
Arizona's Immigration Bill and Korea
Yehonathan Tommer
Assassination in Dubai
[ESL/EFL Podcast] Saying No
Seventeenth in a series of English language lessons from Jennifer Lebedev...
  [ESL/EFL] Talking About Change
  [ESL/ EFL Podcast] Personal Finances
  [ESL/EFL] Buying and Selling
How worried are you about the H1N1 influenza virus?
  Very worried
  Somewhat worried
  Not yet
  Not at all
    * Vote to see the result.   
  copyright 1999 - 2018 ohmynews all rights reserved. internews@ohmynews.com Tel:+82-2-733-5505,5595(ext.125) Fax:+82-2-733-5011,5077