2020-02-18 10:40 KST  
Global Voices Online - The world is talking. Are you listening?
World Cup 2006 Missing a Hat-trick
Just two matches remain and interest is waining
Bishnu K.C. (bishnuji)     Print Article 
Published 2006-07-06 15:50 (KST)   
The 2006 FIFA World Cup has just two matches remaining and yet the competition is still waiting for its first hat-trick. Host nation Germany will play against Portugal for third place on July 8 in Stuttgart and France will play Italy for the Jules Rimet trophy in the capital city, Berlin on July 9.

Can anyone score a hat-trick in these two matches? If the tournament ends without a hat-trick goal, it will be the first time in the history of World Cup football. There were no less than seven hat-tricks at Switzerland 1954 and five at France 1938. Four came in Mexico 1986 and also at Spain 1982. The list of the hat-trick heroes of the World Cup matches are as follows:
1930: Pedro Cea (Uruguay v Yugoslavia); Guillermo Stabile (Argentina v Mexico)

1934: Angelo Schiavio (Italy v USA); Edmund Conen (Germany v Belgium)

1938: Ernest Wilimowski (Poland v Brazil); Gyula Zsengeller (Hungary v Sweden); Tore Keller (Sweden v Cuba); Gustav Wetterstrom (Sweden v Cuba); Leonidas (Brazil v Poland)

1950: Ademir (Brazil v Sweden); Oscar Miguez (Uruguay v Bolivia)

1954: Sandor Kocsis (Hungary v Korea Republic, v Germany); Carlos Borges (Uruguay v Scotland); Sargun Burham (Turkey v Korea Republic); Sepp Huegi (Switzerland v Austria); Erich Probst (Austria v Czechosolovakia); Theodor Wagner (Austria v Switzerland); Max Morlock (Germany v Turkey)

1958: Pele (Brazil v France); Just Fontaine (France v Paraguay, v Germany)

1962: Florian Albert (Hungary v Bulgaria)

1966: Geoff Hurst (England v Germany); Eusebio (Portugal v Korea DPR)

1970: Gerd Muller (Germany v Bulgaria, v Peru)

1974: Andrzej Szarmach (Poland v Haiti); Dusan Bajevic (Yugoslavia v Zaire)

1978: Rob Rensenbrink (Netherlands v Iran); Teofilo Cubillas (Peru v Iran)

1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy v Brazil); Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany v Chile); Laszlo Kiss (Hungary v El Salvador); Zbigniew Boniek (Poland v Belgium)

1986: Emilio Butragueno (Spain v Denmark); Igor Belanov (Russia v Belgium); Preben Elkjar-Arsen (Denmark v Uruguay); Gary Lineker (England v Poland)

1990: Tomas Skuhravy (Czechoslovakia v Costa Rica); Michel (Spain v Korea Republic)

1994: Oleg Salenko (Russia v Cameroon); Batistuta (Argentina v Greece)

1998: Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina v Jamaica)

2002: Pauleta (Portugal v Poland); Miroslav Klose (Germany v Saudi Arabia)
Portugal's Pauleta is the last hat-trick marksman with his trio in the 4-0 defeat of Poland at Jeonju, South Korea, on June 10, 2002.

Though this World Cup has had its moments of joy, loss and violence, with the elimination of teams like Brazil, Argentina, England and Germany, the interest by most fans is starting to wain. Perhaps a hat-trick could solve this problem
©2006 OhmyNews
Other articles by reporter Bishnu K.C.

Add to :  Add to Del.icio.usDel.icio.us |  Add to Digg this Digg  |  Add to reddit reddit |  Add to Y! MyWeb Y! MyWeb

Ronda Hauben
Netizens Question Cause of Cheonan Tragedy
Michael Werbowski
[Opinion] Democracy's Downfall
Michael Solis
Arizona's Immigration Bill and Korea
Yehonathan Tommer
Assassination in Dubai
[ESL/EFL Podcast] Saying No
Seventeenth in a series of English language lessons from Jennifer Lebedev...
  [ESL/EFL] Talking About Change
  [ESL/ EFL Podcast] Personal Finances
  [ESL/EFL] Buying and Selling
How worried are you about the H1N1 influenza virus?
  Very worried
  Somewhat worried
  Not yet
  Not at all
    * Vote to see the result.   
  copyright 1999 - 2020 ohmynews all rights reserved. internews@ohmynews.com Tel:+82-2-733-5505,5595(ext.125) Fax:+82-2-733-5011,5077