2019-10-18 03:01 KST  
Global Voices Online - The world is talking. Are you listening?
Nepal: Monarchist Party to Boycott Election
Major parties put forward candidates for president and vice president
Kishor Panthi (kishor)     Print Article 
Published 2008-07-19 06:02 (KST)   
The only monarchist party in Nepal's Constituent Assembly (CA) has decided to boycott the election to elect the country's first president.

OMNI's New Approach to Citizen Journalism
[Opinion] Democracy's Downfall
Technology Can Save Money, Planet
[Opinion] Iran Defends Peaceful 'Right'
Couchsurfing in Gaza
Assassination in Dubai
UN Votes For Goldstone Report, Again
Italians Seek Kyrgyz President's Financial Advisor
The Biggest Billionaires
Israel, Gaza and International Law
At a central working committee meeting on Friday, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP-Nepal) decided to stay away from the election procedure, accusing the major parties of using the election in an overtly partisan manner by throwing out the politics of understanding.

In a statement signed by RPP-Nepal's general secretary, Tanka Dhakal, the party, which has a total of four members in the 594-member strong CA, has regretted that none of the big parties -- and, especially, the prime minister -- called an all party meeting to decide on the issue of electing a president.

The RPP-Nepal has urged that independent and respected national figures be chosen as the chairpersons of the CA.

On Tuesday the CA fixed the date for the election of the first president of the nation: July 19. Under the procedure that has been adopted for the election, the winner will have to get at least 51 percent of the total votes in the CA. Three candidates had been registered by the major parties for the post of president and four for vice president, according to the election commission.

The major political parties -- CPN-Maoist, Nepali Congress (NC), CPN-UML and the Madhesi People's Rights Forum (MPRF) -- have put forward their candidates for the posts.

The Maoists have proposed Ram Raja Prasad Singh for the presidential post and its CA lawmaker, professor Shanta Shrestha, for the vice presidential post.

The NC has registered its general secretary, Ram Baran Yadav, as its presidential candidate and central member Maan Bahadur Bishwakarma as the vice presidential candidate.

The UML has proposed Ram Prit Paswan for president and central member Asta Laxmi Shakya for vice president. Paswan hails from the Terai and belongs to the Dalit community.

The MPRF registered Parmananda Jha for vice president and support the Maoists choice of Singh for president.
©2008 OhmyNews
Other articles by reporter Kishor Panthi

Add to :  Add to Del.icio.usDel.icio.us |  Add to Digg this Digg  |  Add to reddit reddit |  Add to Y! MyWeb Y! MyWeb

Ronda Hauben
Netizens Question Cause of Cheonan Tragedy
Michael Werbowski
[Opinion] Democracy's Downfall
Michael Solis
Arizona's Immigration Bill and Korea
Yehonathan Tommer
Assassination in Dubai
[ESL/EFL Podcast] Saying No
Seventeenth in a series of English language lessons from Jennifer Lebedev...
  [ESL/EFL] Talking About Change
  [ESL/ EFL Podcast] Personal Finances
  [ESL/EFL] Buying and Selling
How worried are you about the H1N1 influenza virus?
  Very worried
  Somewhat worried
  Not yet
  Not at all
    * Vote to see the result.   
  copyright 1999 - 2019 ohmynews all rights reserved. internews@ohmynews.com Tel:+82-2-733-5505,5595(ext.125) Fax:+82-2-733-5011,5077